Visa exemption in Thailand

Thailand’s visa exemption rule enables tourists from 52 countries to arrive in Thailand without having first to apply for a visa. They are allowed a stay of up to 30 days but only if entering at an International Airport. Nevertheless, arriving through a land border checkpoint from a neighbouring country will also allow you to enter Thailand, but you will granted an authorization of stay of 15 days maximum. If you come from one of the G7 countries (The United Kingdom, United States of America, Canada, Japan, France, Germany, Russia, Macau, Italy, Hong Kong, Laos, Vietnam will receive 30 days in both airport or land border.)

According to the provisions of the visa exemption rule, the purpose of the visit is strictly for tourism purposes.

You must have a confirmed return ticket to show that you will be flying out of Thailand within 30 or 15 days of entry, as appropriate. Open tickets are not acceptable. Travelling over land out of Thailand is not accepted as proof of exiting Thailand either. A plane ticket is the only acceptable proof.

You may be asked to show your flight ticket at the border checkpoint when entering Thailand and if you are unable to show a flight ticket proving your intention to exit Thailand within 30 or 15 days of entry you probably will be denied entry

You  may also be asked to prove that you have funds of at least 10,000 THB per person during your stay in Thailand.

Based on Bilateral Agreement the nationals of the following countries will be granted 90 days in both airport and land border when entering Thailand: Korea, Brazil, Peru, Argentina and Chile

List of the 152 countries allowed to enter Thailand under the visa exemption rule:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • Slovak Republic
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Vietnam